Customer Reviews

Here's what our customers had to say...

Romain

Absolutely great experience! Would recommend to any friend! The truck is in great condition and so is the tent. Frank and Kristen put everything you could wish for, for you to use, like beach chairs, camping chairs, table, cooking utensils, lights, beach umbrella etc… they were also very friendly and easy to communicate with. Rented the truck end of january, the weather was pretty crazy but we felt so geared up that it was actually alright. My wide and I had a great time! – February 2019

Romain

Lee

THIS IS THE ULTIMATE MUST in MAUI!!! The best thing we did on our trip was to book the Kuleana Camper. Kristin and Frank are genuine gems of the island and have so meticulously thought and executed the best way to experience this magical island. The thing with this style of exploring the island is this, if you want to adventure, this pushes the envelope of what that energy manifests. And the value is sooo worth it!!! Can’t wait to come back and this will be the first line of action in our preparation after booking our flights to the island. If you’re even tickled by the imagination of camping throughout the island, this is an unforgettable means to your best memories. – From San Diego, CA · January 2019

Lee

Karissa

We had a great experience! Kristen and Frank were amazing to work with. They answered all of our questions before and during our trip very quickly. Communication was amazing. Everything we could ask for was provided and extremely clean. They provided great recommendations for places to camp and eat. We will definitely be using them again on our next time in Maui. – From North Bend, WA · January 2019
Karissa

Samantha

I cannot say enough great things about Kristen and Frank, and their amazing truck/tent rental! My partner and I were looking for more of an “adventure” holiday but to still be comfortable, and this was the perfect balance. To be honest, I was a bit nervous about camping in Maui (I’m not really the “outdoorsy” type) but Kristen and Frank have thought of everything to keep you comfortable while still getting to enjoy the camping experience. They provide you with everything you need! After a run through of how to open and close the tent and all the items provided, all we had to do was pick up some food and booze and we were on our way. 10/10 would do again in a heartbeat <3, January 2019

Samantha

Amalia

We spent 10 AMAZING days camping and exploring Maui in Kristen’s campervan. The van has everything you can possibly need for an adventure and everything is clean, super easy to use and in great condition. You just have to bring yourself! Also Kristen and Frank were very responsive and incredibly helpful, they gave us great tips regarding campgrounds and places to go in the island. I would definitely recommend this van to anyone who is looking for an adventure in paradise. Thank you so much Kristen and Frank for making our trip unforgettable! – December 2018

Amalia

Spencer

 So much fun! A different way to do maui that offered a bunch of new adventures that most people don’t normally don’t get to experience. We loved the windmills and Haleakalā campground with Waianapanapa as another favorite. Kristen and Frank gave great advice and provided a ton of supplies that made the trip seem less. Can’t express how happy I am about the experience. – From Seattle, WA · December 2018
Spencer

Daniel

Kristen (and Frank) were incredible!! They provided everything you could imagine to make this experience unforgettable. Highly, highly recommend this as an experience! This is a memory I will never forget. I can’t say enough how awesome Kristen (and Frank) are! When I come back, I will for sure be renting from Kristen again! – From Upper Arlington, OH · December 2018

Daniel

AI

Kristen and Frank are the absolute best. They have thought of everything. This was my first time camping and I couldn’t have asked for a better situation. This is truly the best way to see and experience the wonders of Maui. I can’t do them justice with words so let me tell you that what they provide is an absolute experience. The road to Hana CD was truly a highlight . Again you just have to experience it. Spent 7 nights in these accommodations and by the end I wanted 7 more. Thank you for everything I will be back. – From Atlanta, GA · November 2018

AI

Steven

Excellent response time! We had such an amazing stay and it all started with the greeting and walk through of the truck, camper and amenities. If you’re looking to see Maui, this is the way to do it! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! – From Waipahu, HI · November 2018

Steven

Sidney

My boyfriend and I rented the truck/tent setup for 8 nights and we had an amazing time! We stayed in a condo for the beginning of our stay and honestly wished we camped the entire trip instead. Kristen and Frank were awesome hosts, quickly helping us with any questions and concerns we had. It was nice being able to stay in a new location every night, we were able to spend time and explore places we wouldn’t have had time for otherwise. They supply you with tips on snorkel spots, restaurants, beaches and other neat spots to check out. They really have thought of everything you need to have an awesome experience. We will definitely be recommending to friends and family. Thanks again Frank and Kristen, see you on our next trip to Maui!

Sidney

Patricia

I was skeptical at first but after reading the prior reviews I moved Forward with the reservation. I recommend any skeptic to do the same now that I did (Website hidden by Airbnb) takes two for this operation to pop up so if you are a good team…go for it!!! It’s ideal for a Maui vacation in the non rainy season but the tent window shades keep the rain out completely anyway if it does happen to rain. Parking in the sand and waking up seaside to the sunrise is awesome The camping gear is definitely adequate. Full Breakfast with coffee every morning Haleakala summit is chilly for overnight camping so bring layers for that experience The mattress is way more comfortable than expected And the option of a fresh water shower tops the rating to 5 star

Patricia

Matthew

The camper exceeded all of our expectations ! It was easy to set and break down Kristen and Frank have everything you could need to make the experience amazing. All the camp sites recommend were beautiful, safe, and very convenient. This is a must do when traveling around Maui.

Matthew

Robin

The hosts were absolutely amazing! We has the best time, everything that we possible could need was included. We got valuable tips and guidance which helped us get the most out of our trip. We would definetely recomend this for everyone wanting to experience Maui. Check in was very smooth and flexible. We immediately felt comfortable with the hosts!

Robin

James

Couldn’t have asked for a better way to view Maui (or anywhere really). The trip was one of the best we’ve ever had! Frank and Kristen were amazing! Communication was on point and literally everything we needed (and didn’t know we needed) was thought about and included! Towels, cooking utensils, electric pump to pressurize the outdoor shower, chargers for iPhones, literally anything we needed was provided. The truck was clean and looked to be detailed before they picked us up from the airport. The pop up tent took us 5 min to set up and pack back up, incredibly easy and convenient! I can’t say enough great things about this set up! The truck handled the road to Hana and all other off-road areas with ease and had plenty of power and traction to get us anywhere we needed to go. We saw many other rentals around the island struggling with some of the driving conditions and were extremely stoked we were In the Tacoma. We were looking into many other types of campers to travel in (vw vans/ cargo vans/ full-size campers) and we quickly realized that if we had chosen any other type of vehicle we simply wouldn’t have been able to see the island the way we did. Many roads are uneven/ un-paved and extremely narrow and steep! Hands down, this is the only way to travel and see Maui! – June 2018

James

Paul

an amazing way to experience Maui! We booked this for a few nights as a part of our honeymoon and it was more than worth it. The car had everything you needed to camp – you just pick up the car, fill the cooler with food and you’re good to go. Tent set-up and breakdown is super simple. Kristen and Frank are very kind, helpful and communicative. The car makes the drive on Road to Hana all the way through to Haleakala National Park easy (which is the route we took). Highly recommended if you want to experience the beautiful and unique outdoors that Maui has to offer!

Paul

James

My wife and I had an amazing time traveling around Maui with Kristen & Frank’s camper/trunk!! The setup is incredible with the trunk being a new 4×4 with all the camping equipments provided. The tent is easy to setup in minutes and somewhat bullet proof (couple of nights it rained hard and strong winds but it was no problem). Kristen & Frank put a lot of thought into what you will need for comfortable camping experience, more like glamping, it came with everything you will need i.e. table, chairs, cooking supplies (even olive oil, coffee, etc), toiletries, etc It also has built in shower which was nice to use after spending the day at the beach.

Being 4×4 we felt comfortable taking the car to remote places off the beaten paths although you do want to camp in the designated campsites (there are many cool spots throughout the island) there are also some remote spots that you could camp and it felt safe everywhere. Frank came to pick us up at the airport and showed us how to use everything. He embodied the aloha spirit with friendliness and care. Both Kristen & Frank was quick with communication and provided numerous recommendations for the island. If you want fun adventure in Maui instead of staying at tourist trap hotels then I highly recommend this airbnb glamping!

James

Morgan

My husband and I just had the most amazing time exploring Maui with this awesome camping set up. We were a little nervous to book at first, and were debating just finding a room somewhere and renting a car to get around. I am so glad that we choose to go this route instead. I’m convinced now that there is no better way to experience Maui. I really feel like we would have missed out on some of the most beautiful parts of our trip if we hadn’t chosen to camp.

Although, with this set up it is really more like glamping because literally everything you need has been thoughtfully planned out before you even arrive. Everything you need to camp, cook, be a beach bum for the day and even snorkel has been provided. Kristen and Frank were the best hosts and even helped us plan out our itinerary before arriving. They provide a map with all of the best places to camp and visit and have really good tips about the less touristy places to visit. They are also very accommodating with airport pick up and drop off and will work with you on your flight arrival and departure times.

We really couldn’t have hoped for better hosts. They showed us how everything worked after picking us up from the airport, and it is amazingly easy to set up and take down the tent. It’s also an amazing value because you are getting your rental car and lodging for a super reasonable price, and it is definitely a must to have 4 wheel drive if you really want to experience the more secluded areas of Maui. The shower is also a huge bonus as a couple of the campgrounds did not have showers. The tent had nice linens, and they have even added some ambient lighting that makes it feel very cozy and romantic.

I’m a pretty outdoorsy person but have never been a huge fan of camping, but with this set up I was super comfy and slept like a baby. We felt like we had the most amazing and authentic experience of Maui possible. We were able to explore the road to Hana, experience the black sand and red sand beaches, hike Pipiwai trail, swim at secluded waterfalls, drive through up country, see the sunset above the clouds on Haleakala and snorkel with sea turtles. If you are looking for an amazing adventure I highly recommend Kuleana Camper; I seriously cannot say enough good things about them. You will have an amazing experience and make memories to last a lifetime.

Morgan

Roksana

Me and my fiancé stayed in this truck during our engagement trip to Maui. Kristen and Frank where super helpful they gave us amazing tips about the island they even gave us a map and highlight all campgrounds, nice beaches, hike places … which became super handy. The truck is super cool it has everything you may need to sleep, cook and even a shower!! We travel a lot but this trip was one of the best ones and I give all the credits to Kuleana Camper.

Roksana

Chelsie

My fiancée and I rented out Kristen’s Toyota Tacoma for part of our trip last week and it did not disappoint!!! We were able to see as much of the island as we wanted. Having the fold out tent on the roof was so convenient and FUN! Kristen & Frank were both extremely friendly & accommodating! Thank you both for helping us to have such a fantastic trip! HIGHLY recommended!!!!

Chelsie
Call Us